Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a dozen of these strippers from Rick Reich when he had the MN package (clips and pouch $17 shipped), and I'm just curious if these are repro's or authentic.

Here's a picture of a stamping on the flat. It looks like a "T" in a triangle in a circle:

Here's a pic of a pair of them loaded with some Hungarian and Czech ST to show what I think!! are "fingers:"

Feedback from any of you knowledgeable folks is very appreciated!
Mike

·
Gold Bullet Member
2,799 Posts
They look original to me, but I am no expert. Most of the repros I have seen do not have the "fingers" cut on the ends.

·
Mr. Flashy Pants
7,380 Posts
Sorry, it's on the old new boards, or the new old boards. ;) I tried to paste it here, but it's not working out. Here's a link that will expire in a couple of days. http://www.gunboards.com/forums/forum_posts.asp?TID=243504

Here's one of my replies in that thread:

I just compared a real Tikka clip and a reproduction Tikka clip. I'll probably have to take some pictures, but that's not happening tonight. The real one is very shiny and the repro is kind of dull and almost looks like it's galvanized or zinc. It feels slightly heavier. I also plan to weigh them, but unless you have a scale that goes to .1 grain I doubt you'll be able to judge them by that. The Tikka logos are indistinguishable from the "outside", but the on the repro clip it is visible on the inside where it is "stamped through" and this does not show on the original. The repro is ever so slightly more rough around the "upper corners" above the "fingers", but without one of each kind to compare I don't think you'd be able to tell. The repro feels like it has a coating on it, but nothing really cleaned off of it with Hoppes #9. The original is very slick feeling.

·
Registered
2,254 Posts
Clips