Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
a big hello to all around!

Recently I mentioned to some friends proficient in long range shooting that I was thinking about putting a good scope on my big bore Winchester 70 in .416 rem. mag. and try some long range shooting out to about 800 meters. Well, that statement was greeted with howls of shock and indignation as if blasphemy. How can you? What nonsense! That is a totally inept and inefficient cartridge for anything further out than 300 yards. Too heavy, bad trajectory, too slow, totally inadequate ballistics for long range, etc....

So, since I am a total newbe to long range shooting, I just shut up and left it at that. But now I am thinking: ok, it's heavy, comparatively slow and all, but so is the .50cal BMG and that is used extensively and with good results for long range sniping. So how is that so different than the .416 rem. mag. and why does this even bigger cartridge perform so much better long range? :confused:

perhaps someone can shed some light on this for me?

·
Registered
52 Posts
start with a definition of "long range"
imho 800 yards is not, the mil shoots 308 win for 800 yards
i shoot long range(2000 plus) i now no one shooting this round...does not mean it will not.
try visiting long range hunting, they have a long range board, accurate shooter used to but now it is hit and miss.
bench rest considers 600/1000 "long range" based on short range being 100/200

·
Registered
2,485 Posts