Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a chance to get an 1896 30-40 Krag carbine at a local auction. I know nothing about these guns. Just wondering what something like this would be worth? Serial number is 45199

Any help would be appreciated.

Mark

·
Registered
1,031 Posts
Can't help with value as I'm no expert but would add that more information is required if you expect to get any meaningful responses to your question. All I can say is be sure that it is a real carbine and not one made from a cut down rifle which was commonly done to rifles. An 03 type front sight would be one indicator of a cut rifle and the plugged cleaning rod channel another. You should not have to do any federal paperwork on it since it was made pre 1899.

·
Registered
644 Posts
Extra holes in the recvr or reblue would lower the value. Lots of faux ones out there. My Poyer book says it was built in September of ‘96. Look on line for images of a correct rifle. A good fake might be worth 600.00 while a legit ‘96 in good condition might be worth twice that. Good luck.

·
Registered
53 Posts
As a pre-1898 antique, that would put a premium on it right there. Krag carbines have value as Krag carbines, but you would also have value as an antique firearm, not subject to the normal firearm restrictions under federal law, that also shoots readily available ammo. That might be surprisingly high. There are websites that sell/auction antique firearms exclusively. I follow these sites occasionally, and the items always sell at quite high prices.

·
Registered
4,818 Posts