Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a 1941 Long Branch over the weekend. The wood is pretty beat up and has been sanded, but the metal is in pretty good shape, and it does not look like it has been refurbished at any point (but I do not know for sure - this is why I ask the experts!). Photos are at:

http://s1016.photobucket.com/albums/af290/spinecracker/1941 Long Branch/

The back of the bolt handle looks shiny. The machining marks on either side of the shiny area look identical and have the same orientation as the machining marks in the shiny area. The serial number runs from shiny area to the unshiny area, and the font of the "2"s (one in shiney area, one in non-shiney area) is identical and the same size. It looks more like wear to me, but I am not an expert. If the bolt is a replacement, would they have replaced it with parts correct for a 1941 Long Branch (i.e. early style cocking piece). When did Long Branch stop making the bolts with the holes in the end of the bolt handles?

I may restore this rifle, if I can get the parts (the original rear sight has been butchered on the 300 yard aperture, but someone may know how to fix it, or it may be good for spares), or I might sell it to the highest bidder as a project gun. Comments?

·
Registered
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Right, after careful consideration, I am looking for a correct Mk.1 micrometer rear sight with the LB stamp, and a Long Branch fore-end with the lower right hand wall that would be correct for a 1941 Long Branch. If anyone has these items for sale, or knows of a person who does, then please let me know.

·
Registered
934 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·